If you wish, you can allow SuperWEB2 users to save tables and custom data that are accessible to other SuperWEB2 users. To use this feature, you need to create folders in SuperADMIN, and set permissions on those folders to control who can access the folders.
You can also use SuperADMIN to upload and manage tables in shared folders.
Create a Folder
To create a new folder in SuperADMIN, use the
For example, the following command creates a new folder with the ID
sharedfolder in the top level of the dataset catalogue:
The display name for this folder has been set to Shared User Tables. This display name will appear in SuperWEB2 when users are saving and loading tables and custom data from this folder. For example:
Set Folder Permissions
Once you have created a folder, you will need to set permissions to control who can access this folder:
|No Permissions||If users or groups do not have read permissions for a particular folder, then they will not see the folder (or any of the saved tables and custom data inside the folder) in SuperWEB2.|
If users or groups have
|Read and Write Permissions|
If users or groups have
For example, the following command gives the user
jsmith permission to load tables and custom data that have been saved to the Shared User Tables folder by other users:
The following commands give the group
tablecreators permission to load tables and custom data that have been saved to the Shared User Tables folder, and also create new tables and custom data in this folder:
Upload and Manage Tables in Shared Folders
You can also use SuperADMIN to upload a saved TXD to the catalogue, as well as view and manage tables that have been saved by users from inside SuperWEB2.
cat command to upload and manage saved tables.
Upload a Saved Table to the Catalogue
- Use SuperCROSS to define the structure of the table, and save it in Textual Table Definition (.TXD) format.
Login to SuperADMIN and run the following command:
<folder_id>with the ID of the folder you want to add the table to (or omit this to add it to the root level of the catalogue)
<table_id>with a unique ID of your choice for this table
<display_name>with the name of the table (this will be displayed in the Catalogue and Saved Tables in SuperWEB2)
<path_location>with the location of the TXD file on your local disk
Note when SuperADMIN and SuperWEB2 are Running Separately
If SuperADMIN and SuperWEB2 are running on different machines, then you need to ensure that SuperADMIN has been configured so that it can locate the correct SuperWEB2 instance when uploading the table. If you receive an error message similar to the following, SuperADMIN is not configured correctly:
To resolve this, you can either:
- Set the value of
publicBaseResourceUrlin the SuperWEB2 web.xml configuration file. This will permanently resolve the issue, but requires a restart of SuperWEB2 to take effect.
- Run the following command in SuperADMIN:
connection superweb2 <url>(please note that this applies to the current SuperADMIN session only). See connection for more details.
Move a Table between Folders
You can use the
cat command to move a table to a different folder (replace
<table_id> with the ID of the table you want to move, and
folder_id> with the ID of the destination folder):
To move a table to the root folder, use
root as the
<folder_id>. For example:
Review the List of Tables in a Folder
You can also use the
cat command to check which tables are in a particular folder:
You can omit the folder ID if you want to get a list of tables in the root folder.
Remove a Table
You can delete a table from the repository using the following command:
You can use this command to delete tables you have uploaded, as well as tables that have been added by SuperWEB2 users. Tables created within SuperWEB2 are automatically assigned an ID. You can find out what this is using the
cat [ <folder_id> ] tables command.
Rename a Table
Use the following command to rename a table in the repository:
This command changes the name that is displayed to users in SuperWEB2.
Note about Deleting Folders and Reuse of Folder IDs
There is currently a known issue relating to what happens when a folder is deleted: although any tables that were in the folder at the time of deletion will no longer be accessible to SuperWEB2 users, the table definitions will remain in the user data repository database.
If you subsequently create another folder with the same ID as the deleted folder, the tables from the previous folder may become available again in SuperWEB2.
For this reason, you are recommended not to reuse IDs from previously deleted folders when creating new folders. The problem only occurs when IDs are reused; you can use the same display name as a previously deleted folder and the issue will not occur (as long as the ID is different).
This issue will be resolved in a future release.